Small,pretty house in quiet street

Small Victorian semi-detached terrace with courtyard garden within close walking distance of two railway stations, public transport to city centre,and parks, Melbourne University, major hospitals,rail connections to other cities and airport. In a pretty, quiet, tree-lined virtual cul de sac above small suburban railway cutting.

Comfortable, attractive living room, study with queen-size sofa bed, bedroom with open fireplaces; gas ducted heating, no a/c but house remains cool in hot weather as long as kept closed in daytime so not necessary; new kitchen and bathroom/laundry with washer, no dryer but again not necessary in our summer.
(Dining room has been converted to living room and living room now a study with a queen-sized sofa bed. Sorry, have yet to post new photos, cat no longer extant, will do so asap but since travel from and to Australia still limited, issue is not urgent.)

Close to all major city events, lively music scene, restaurants, galleries, parks, public pools etc. Beaches can be reached by public transport from city or Williamstown beach by train from South Kensington station.

About the location

A quiet area divided by only one through road. Mostly small Victorian workers` houses but rapidly gentrifying so most are renovated and extended. Population a mixture of students in rented accomodation and young professionals with families. Pleasant cafes and small supermarket and shops on Macaulay Road, five minutes` walk, close to 1860`s railway station; many ethnic and modern restaurants and shops fifteen minutes` walk to Racecourse Road and trams to Vic Market and city.
Can walk to CBD in forty minutes, two train stops to CBD or `hospital bus` to University of Melbourne and East Melbourne five minutes` walk away.
Holland Park indoor swimming pool a few minutes` walk away behind house, includes gym; also North Melbourne Football Club Sports Centre over footbridge at end of street and three blocks` walk. Walking distance from Flemington Racecourse.
Walks to former Stockbridge over river and along river to edge of suburbs (see map), Royal Park, University of Melbourne.

Type of swap

  • Home Exchange

Conditions of exchange

  • Non smokers only
  • Children welcome

Kensington (HE27722)

Victoria,   Australia

  • 1 bed   (sleeps 4) 1 bath

Preferred destinations

  • England
  • London
  • USA
  • New York
  • Open to offers
Interested in museums, art galleries and gardens, any big city

Dates available

Open to offers

Swap duration: 1 - 2 months

Meet the member

Adults: 1     
Experienced Exchanger

Membership expiry date: 05 May 2022