Cosy house near centre of historic York

We live in a cosy two-storey terraced house ten minutes' walk from the centre of York. It has two bedrooms and a bathroom upstairs (one bedroom is currently used as a study), a courtyard with lots of plants, and downstairs a kitchen-diner and living room. It can comfortably sleep 2-3 people but can accommodate 4 if needed. The kitchen is well equipped with everything you need including Gaggia coffee machine (in case that's important!) and dishwasher.

If the swap is outside the UK, we can leave car for you to use. There is free on-street parking outside our house. We have two bikes (currently a man's hybrid and a woman's road bike) which you'd be welcome to use.

We have a small deaf cat, Fuzzface, who would need some attention from you while you're here. She is very friendly and sociable. She's fine to be left on her own during the day but would appreciate some company at night.

About the location

York is a beautiful historic town in the north of England. We are situated in an ideal location for exploring the city - it's a beautiful town with lots going on - as well as the local area of Yorkshire. There's great hiking in the Moors and the Dales, and lots of history both in the city as well as the wider area. We'd recommend Rievaulx Abbey, Castle Howard, and Fountains Abbey, among others. We are an hour on the train or by car to the coast, and just over an hour's drive from Whitby and Robin Hood's Bay, two picturesque seaside towns.

We have been living here nearly two years but we still haven't explored everything there is to see in the area!

Type of swap

  • Home Exchange

Conditions of exchange

  • Children welcome

York (HE42005)

Yorkshire,   England

  • 2 bed   (sleeps 4) 1 bath

Preferred destinations

  • Open to offers

Dates available

Open to offers

Swap duration: 1 - 2 weeks


Meet the member

Adults: 2      Children: 0

Membership expiry date: 27 Nov 2023