Larksfield: Spacious detached house with large private garden - Ashwellthorpe

Larksfield is a three double bedroomed (one can be twins) house with spacious accommodation on the ground floor including a large study/playroom (TV) with a comfortable sofa bed. There is also a dining room, sitting room (with oil fired "wood burner" and Sky Q TV), breakfast room (TV), kitchen and utility room as well as the hall and shower room. All usual appliances.

Upstairs is smaller but with three double bedrooms (one with TV) and family bathroom (shower over bath.)

Outside we have a very private enclosed garden with a kitchen patio, a terrace (sliding door from dining room) and a deck overlooking the pond (sliding door from study). We have two further decked areas and a summer house to catch the morning sun.

At the front of the house we have a carport and a double garage (with full size table tennis table - folded up so that two cars can be parked!) and a gravel parking area.

We have four cats ; friendly, playful boys (Beezy and Dexy) and two newer rescue girls (Florrie and Tippi).. They have beds in the utility room and only access to the rest of the house when people are at home. They have a cat flap to the garden.

Behind a big hedge in the garden we have a large aviary, which can`t really be seen from the house. Here we occasionally house a recuperating wild bird of prey which, if you were willing, would need to be fed. However, we can easily arrange for the aviary to be empty.
New in 202 - chickens! We now have a coop and run for rescue hens. However, like the aviary it can`t really be seen from the house. For exchanges of more than four days it will be necessary to top up the food and water for the chickens. Longer exchanges may involve an element of cleaning. Our current five girls were rescued in August 2023.

About the location

Ashwellthorpe is a small village with no facilities other than a pub which is about a mile away. However, there is a lovely ancient woodland to walk in! Three miles away is Wymondham, a small, attractive, market town with all the usual shops including a Waitrose and a Morrisions and a small Co-Op.

From Wymondham the train will take you in 10 minutes to Norwich which is a lovely little city with two cathedrals and a Norman castle. The streets were not designed for the motor car so it is best to use the train or Park and Ride.
Norwich has museums, theatres, shopping centres, restaurants, riverside walks, boat trips and much more.

In the other direction the train goes to Cambridge (one hour) and then on to London (one hour more).

Norfolk has many attactions; stately homes, pretty villages, gardens, The Broads, museums, animal parks and zoos. The coast surrounds us - candyfloss and funfairs at Great Yarmouth, excellent birdwatching on the north coast, cliffs at Cromer.

Type of swap

  • Home Exchange

Conditions of exchange

  • Non smokers only
  • No pets allowed
  • No small children

Ashwellthorpe (HE36629)

Norfolk,   England

  • 3 bed   (sleeps 8) 2 bath

Preferred destinations

  • UK
  • Europe
  • Open to offers
UK/Europe. We prefer simultaneous exchanges as we have cats and chickens (and sometimes a bird of prey) to be fed. However, we can occasionally consider non-simultaneous exchanges. For 2024 we are thinking of staying mosting in the UK/Europe. We always welcome offers from homes with cats. But if you think you have a home that will tempt us, try us!

Dates available

September 2024 - February 2025

Swap duration: Open to offer

Meet the member

Adults: 2      Children: 0
Experienced Exchanger

Membership expiry date: 16 Apr 2025