Dervaig, Isle of Mull

We are interested in an exchange or house sit in Scotland, Ireland, Norway, France and NL in fact open to any suggestions and happy to take off to Portugal during the winter months. We are keen on short city breaks or a 2 - 4 week stay in order to `live the life of a local` for a few weeks.

The Isle of Mull is off the West Coast of Scotland near Oban and famous for its scenery, and wildlife. We live a mile from the pretty village of Dervaig, 25 min drive from Tobermory and 2 hours from Iona. There is a ferry service from the main port of Oban to Craignure, the latter is 25 miles away.
- see

We moved here 25 years ago and have a family of 4 -5 cats, they are independent, a delight and get on fairly well together. All are rescue cats from Cats Protection and have adapted to a domestic live style, they are clean apart from wet paws. As inside and outside cats they enjoy all that the garden and beyond has to offer them. They need feeding twice a day with some cuddles and love when it suits them. They are our family and according to some rather spoilt, we see this as normal.

About the location

North West Mull is rugged and beautiful with the conservation village of Dervaig situated near Loch Cuin; it`s a pretty village with a great shop/post office and the Bellachroy, a small hotel and bar for takeaways and evening meals, best to phone before though. From Easter to October there two good restaurants nearby, also a number of interesting places to visit with coffee and cake to tempt you and any number of walks to suit all ages.

The island is good for walking, keen cyclists, bird watching and wild life. An area for red deer, otters, white tailed and golden eagles. When gardening the sound of `screechy glass cleaning` means the white tails are above us. And if you want to know more about wild life there are several wild life tour operators - land and sea - in the area.

The bus passes the property three times a day travelling from Tobermory to Calgary Bay via Dervaig and back again.

The property is sat on an acre of land, some of which is kept under control including a small vegetable patch, the rest is given over to wild life, frogs, toads, butterflies, a variety of garden birds as well as those that fly through or over over, buzzards, sparrow hawk, ravens and sea and golden eagles. An otter visits the pond, he is after newts and frogs and often leaves a calling card, so kind. We are part of a small group of houses all with large gardens, the neighbours are lovely and happy to help, you are on your own although not isolated.

Type of swap

  • Home Exchange
  • Non Simultaneous Exchange
  • Housesitting Wanted
  • Open to Offers
  • Housesitting Offered
  • Weekend Exchange

Conditions of exchange

  • Non smokers only
  • No pets allowed
  • Pet Care Offered
  • Pet Care required
  • No small children

Dervaig (HE25998)

Argyllshire,   Scotland

  • 2 bed   (sleeps 3) 1 bath

Preferred destinations

  • Norway
  • France
  • Open to offers
  • Ireland

Dates available

Open to offers

Swap duration: Open to offer

Meet the member

Adults: 2      Children: 0
Experienced Exchanger

Membership expiry date: 13 Mar 2025