Cosy 2 bedroom Victorian Cottage

Located in Colchester, the oldest recorded town in the UK, my Victorian two bedroom house has two double bedrooms and everything you need for a comfortable stay. It is a 10 minute walk from Colchester town which has many shops, pubs, bars, restaurants, swimming pool, bowling, cinema, theatres, art galleries, museums and a wide range of children`s activities and entertainment. It is a 10 minute walk to the station with direct trains to London Liverpool Street Station, and to local towns and villages. There are local convenience stores , a supermarket and a pub around the corner The A12 is nearby, which links to the M25 and M11 motorways.

Stansted airport is 40 mins away, Southend airport is about an hour away - cheap flights to/from Europe. Trains and buses (National Express from a nearby stop) take you to Heathrow and Gatwick airports. I can also offer my car if not needed for my journey.

About the location

This delightful historical town has a Roman castle (15 min walk from house) and beautiful parks/country walks. The town has everything needed by all travellers - shops, trains, bars, restaurants, cinema, theatre, museums, art galleries, bowling, swimming, gyms.

Colchester is approximately 1.5 hours away from the historical towns of Cambridge and Norwich. Day trips to London are also easy. Train journeys take less than one hour. There is an excellent bus service to get you around Colchester and to other locations.

Colchester is located near the Essex/Suffolk border, so lots of fantastic countryside, wildlife sanctuaries, historical sites (many castles, stately homes, Roman ruins and much more), seaside resorts, boating towns and coasts/beaches to explore including the sandy beaches at Frinton and The Naze; the coastal boating town of Mersea famous for its fresh fish, especially oysters (Essex produces the best!); the scenic Stour valley with Dedham Vale - home to artist John Constable, where he painted the famous Hay Wain; and the historic towns of Kersey, Lavenham, Long Melton and Clare, to name but a few.

It is a perfect location for all travellers, as everything is within easy reach.

Type of swap

  • Home Exchange
  • Non Simultaneous Exchange
  • Housesitting Wanted
  • Open to Offers
  • Long Term Exchange
  • Housesitting Offered
  • Weekend Exchange
  • Rental Offered

Conditions of exchange

  • Non smokers only
  • Children welcome
  • Pet Care Offered
  • Pet Care required

Colchester (HE23943)

Essex,   England

  • 2 bed   (sleeps 4) 1 bath

Preferred destinations

  • Open to offers
  • Europe
  • England
  • Bahamas & Caribbean
  • South America
  • Central America
  • Asia
Any duration, anywhere with internet access so I can work.

Dates available

Open to offers

Swap duration: Open to offer


Meet the member

Adults: 1      Children: 0
Experienced Exchanger

Membership expiry date: 26 Mar 2022