Lovely 3 Bed home in Wensleydale, England

The cottage is in Bainbridge, a small village in upper Wensleydale, in the Yorkshire Dales National Park. Its wide village green(pic 1) is surrounded by old stone cottages, and my home is on the banks of the River Bain which flows from Semerwater,(pic 2) three miles up the hill, the highest lake in England. All around are hills with stone walls and barns, and flocks of sheep and cows. The area was featured in the TV series “All Creatures Great and Small” and is ideal for walking, either gentle strolls or more vigorous hillwalks. There are many interesting places to visit within a few miles – Bolton Castle, the restored Gayle Water Mill, a ropeworks, the Wensleydale Wallace and Gromit Creamery, makers of famous cheeses; Aysgarth Falls (pic 3)and the famous Settle to Carlisle Railway. A car is essential for anyone wishing to visit. Because it is a tourist area there are many good restaurants and especially pubs serving traditional English food. York is about 45 miles away, and Kendal, in the Lake District, about 35 miles away. Other interesting towns to visit are Richmond and Skipton, each with an imposing castle, and shopping streets.The cottage has two upstairs bedrooms, one with twin beds and the other a queensize (5 foot) bed. Pic 4 shows the view from the bedroom on a snowy morning! Downstairs there is a small study with a double sofa bed, for those who cannot easily manage stairs. However there is no accommodation for clothes in that downstairs room. There is an upstairs bathroom and toilet, and a downstairs toilet and washbasin. The sittingroom is small but cosy, with an open fire as well as oil central heating throughout the house. The kitchen has all the usual equipment; microwave, fridge freezer, oven, 4 plate hob. There is a 32 inch HD tv with digital Sky+. It is a very peaceful village indeed, and I feel safe in leaving my car and my house unlocked at all times. The small garden is bounded by the river. I live alone, and would be doing the exchange with one friend – either a lady from London, or a different friend from Yorkshire; we are all over 70. We have no particular requests as to dates.

Type of swap

  • Home Exchange
  • Weekend Exchange

Conditions of exchange

  • Non smokers only
  • No pets allowed

Wensleydale (HE21798)

Yorkshire,   England

  • 3 bed   (sleeps 4) 1.5 bath

Preferred destinations

  • Italy
  • Greece
  • France
  • Germany
  • Western Europe

Dates available

Open to offers

Swap duration: 1 - 2 weeks


Meet the member

Adults: 2      Children: 0

Membership expiry date: 14 May 2010