Backing on to national park forest - Sydney Upper North Shore

Our home is a quiet retreat backing onto national park woodland on the beautiful northern outskirts of Sydney. It is a very private three bedroom bungalow overlooking a 12 metre solar-heated outdoor swimming pool. The huge sunny balcony leads off the family/TV room with views into the treetops and glimpses of the national parks extending for around 200 km to the north and west. Hand-feed our wild King Parrots and the resident family of Kookaburras (see picture)! There is also a small sitting room for a quiet read away from distractions, an office and a workshop.
A small four-door hatchback is available by negotiation for town driving.

An ideal base for grandparents visiting family or just a relaxing extended holiday in the Sydney area.
We are interested in exchanging to SOUTH EAST ENGLAND ONLY, FOR 3 MONTHS NOVEMBER 2020 - JANUARY 2021. We have many friends and relations to visit in west London, Oxfordshire, Berkshire, Hampshire, Surrey and West Sussex.

About the location

Hornsby is a safe leafy suburb on the edge of the Australian bush. Our house is only 5 minutes drive from major shopping and entertainment facilities and a main line station, 40 minutes to the harbour and city.
This is multi-cultural urban Australia so there is a huge range of dining options locally. The town has an outdoor restaurant strip to cater for most tastes and many more excellent restaurants are available locally as well. There are lots of cafes in Hornsby or try the up-market suburb of Wahroonga a short drive away.
There are good freeways within a few minutes drive going south to Canberra & Victoria, north to the NSW coast, the wine growing areas of the Hunter Valley and Queensland, and west to the Blue Mountains, western NSW and The Outback (which is a really, really, long way away!).
The nearest beaches are only 40 minutes drive away and world-renowned.

Type of swap

  • Home Exchange

Conditions of exchange

  • Non smokers only
  • No pets allowed
  • Children welcome

Sydney (HE32238)

New South Wales,   Australia

  • 3 bed   (sleeps 4) 2 bath

Preferred destinations

  • Surrey
  • West Sussex
  • Oxfordshire
  • Hampshire
  • Berkshire

Dates available

November 2020 - January 2021

Swap duration: 3 - 6 months

Meet the member

Adults: 2     

Membership expiry date: 02 May 2020